Best and Worst Dressed at the Golden Globes: A Subjective Idea

By Sydney Elliot

So, I don’t really pay much attention to awards shows, but this year’s Golden Globes have caught my attention. I didn’t watch the actual ceremony, but the hype surrounding one of my favorite movies of the year, Slumdog Millionaire, made me actually look at the nominees and the winners of this year’s Globes.

But in my search of who swept the Globes besides Slumdog and 30 Rock, I found out who the best and worst dressed were. I’m not exactly fashion savvy, but looking at the commentary on the worst dressed of this year’s Globes actually made me feel bad for these celebs. Who strutted their stuff down the sacred red carpet and who rolled out of bed and onto the red carpet? That’s definitely subjective.

I compared the lists of best and worst dressed from Entertainment Weekly online, Film.com and AOL.com, and I found that some of the were similar. It just seems like so much hype was put into the fashion scores and wardrobe let downs that no one took the time to consider who won and on what grounds. Isn’t it more important that we acknowledge great directing or acting ability instead of who wore what to which awards ceremony?

Leave a comment