My top 10 rock albums

Lindsey Oyler, Alestle A&E Editor

by Lindsey Oyler, Alestle A&E Editor

We lose our appreciation for the idiots who dropped our of their higher education to make us happy with their songs. Today, I’m honoring each of them by listing my top 10 rock records of the past century in no particular order.

1. Never Mind the Bollocks, Here’s the Sex Pistols by the Sex Pistols (1977)

This is one record I made a point to buy on cassette in my early childhood. At the time, it was mostly a rebellion idea against my parents because it had the word “sex” in it. As a kid, I listened to maybe one or two songs on it and tossed it into the corner of my room. Their singing wasn’t clear enough for me at the time.

After picking it up against a few years back, I found it a great record to drive to, especially with a group of people in the car. Despite the history behind this record, it’s still phenomenal in talent and punk quality. I’ll forever listen to it.

2. Van Halen by Van Halen (1978)

This is my favorite cassette at the moment. Not only does it have all of my favorite songs but it also includes “Eruption” (which is by far the most classic guitar tapping I’ve heard) and also “Ice Cream Man,” which makes me laugh. It’s more fun than anything, but with a rock band that got big on cover songs, (such as “You Really Got Me” and “Dancing in the Street,” both by the Kinks) what’s not to enjoy? That’s huge taboo in today’s rock genre, and if Van Halen can do it, it’s definitely saying something about their hard work and talent.

3. Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness by Smashing Pumpkins (1955)

It is an iffy one, but I personally feel like it deserves a spot. There are many people who despise Billy Corgan’s “whiny” vocals and other things, but I take pride in being a fan. This album covers several genres from classical to grungier rock. Check out the title song itself, “Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness.” It’s entirely instrumental and absolutely beautiful.

4. Blood Sugar Sex Magik by the Red Hot Chili Peppers (1991)

This album has their most epic songs on it, including “Give It Away,” “Blood Sugar Sex Magik,” Under the Bridge and “Suck My Kiss.” It stirred up the ’90s with its irregular genre and original beats. Need I say more?

5. Tommy by The Who (1969)

This record didn’t do it alone. The famous rockopera shifted the focus on rock music itself in the mainstream. I watched the film in grade school (thanks, Dad) and absolutely fell in love with the fact that it was so much like a musical, but cooler. Little did I know that this film was the mark of history where The Who grabbed the attention of the world.

6.Dark Side Of The Moon by Pink Floyd (1973)

I had to include this, despite a little unfamiliarity with it. I’ve listened to it entirely twice and listened to songs here and there since. The reason I listened to it in full in the first place? To see if it matched up with “The Wizards of Oz.” I still don’t know if it does or not. Otherwise, the record is the epitome of all that was the ’70s, and the emotion behind the years. It was played in every teenager’s room, and that cannot be ignored.

7. Please, Please Me by The Beatles (1963)

This may not be the best record out of the lot, but it was the first. It marked the era of the Beatles. I think it’s hilarious that the United States turned the Beatles down the first time they came to our country. Their originality and “vision” helped illuminate the independent thoughts of many in an age of uptight hypocrites. All I can say is thank god they tried a second time.

8. Appetite For Destruction by Guns ‘n’ Roses (1987)

I hate admitting to this, but this is a good record. I didn’t start listening to Guns ‘n’ Roses until late middle school, but when I did it made a certain feeling of freedom rise up in me. I think that that was Axl’s goal and if so, it completed its purpose. No one can deny that Slash was a rock god either.

9. Automatic for the People  by R.E.M. (1992)

This record is one that might’ve been ignored by the masses. Most of their music was and not many people seem to care for R.E.M. However, they are one of my personal favorites and this album is one of my all time favorites of the ’90s. “Drive” is the first song on the album and it sets the stage for the rest of the indie rock tunes. A bit of trivia is that singer Michael Stipe graduated from Collinsville High School in 1978.

10. This was a tie between The Smith’s “The Queen is Dead” and The Cure’s “Disintegration “ (both from 1986). Each demonstrates that new age sound the ’80s was yearning for and what grunge punk got part of its inspiration from. I usually have to be in a certain mood for both of these records, but when I am they are both equally relaxing and, in a sense, magical.

Even though these records aren’t at the top of record history, they’re still in my heart. I recommend:

“Coral Fang” by the Distillers is GREAT for that good punk rebellious yelling in your car kind of angry record.

“Violator” by Depeche Mode has my two favorite songs from Depeche Mode on it. “Enjoy the Silence” and “Personal Jesus” are both epic in their own right, haunting and seriously artistic.

“Dookie” by Green Day. I would put this on the top 10, but I thought that there were too many 90s albums. My apologies.


Leave a comment