CD Review: Coheed and Cambria’s ‘Year of the Black Rainbow’

Lindsey Oyler, Alestle A&E Editor

by Lindsey Oyler, Alestle A&E Editor

I’ve always had respect for Coheed and Cambria. They seem a genre of their own with their comic books dialogue turned lyrics and eerie rock sound. Their new album release “Year of the Black Rainbow” is no exception to their reputation.

“One” is merely an introductory song, fully instrumental. However, with the selected sounds, it gives you the feeling of an apocolpytic vibe. It bleeds into the second song, “The Broken,” which has a fantastic sound. However, one thing I did notice is that if you took out singer Claudio Sanchez’s voice and replaced it with Jared Leto’s, I’d feel like it was a 30 Seconds to Mars song all along. The guitar riffs and the vocals seem to be the only thing setting it apart. Oh, and the breakdown isn’t their best.

Next is “Guns of Summer,” starting with a freaky techno beat and vocals. I didn’t care for it, but it still held its own. I wouldn’t call it terrible, but I would be embarrassed if I were in a car with the windows rolled down playing this song. It’s too heavy for my tastes, but I’m sure it would suit someone else. Listening to it a second time, the vocals almost sound like Incubus.

The fourth track is “Here We Are Juggernaut.” The title of the song itself stresses the intensity of the song. I do like the instruments in this song and the vocals do not disappoint. They play with the synthesizers in the song as well, especially in the verses.

“Far” is track five, and the delay effect on the guitar rings out in such an eerie way that I can’t help but fall in love with the song. The technicality of the overall instrumental background is very low, but it’s still rhythmic.

“Far” is followed by “This Shattered Symphony” and then “World of Lines.” Both almost blend together, both equally skillful and sounding as if they’re meant to be listened together as part I and II. I don’t have a problem with that, but Coheed is already notorious for having longer songs. If I’m going to listen to these songs, I’ll have to sit down and listen to them all together.

Track eight has to be my favorite out of the album. It’s intense, has the right amount of effects and the lyrics are emotional and passionate. Claudio has that same classic sound that he’s always had and that’s what Coheed fans have grown to appreciate. It’s almost an anthem and I could see myself singing this song along with them at a concert. This track is called “Made Out of Nothing (All that I Am).”

“Pearl of the Stars” follows up this track with the weirdest vocals and an attempt at a slow song. However, I found that the background effects sounded more like a cheap 90s R&B song than a hard rock song. It works, but not well enough. The vocals are fine though.

“In the Flame of Error” has a good sound and it’s one of the catchier songs on the album. However, they take advantage of the fact that they found a good rhythm because it’s overly repetitive.

Next is track 11,  “When Skeletons Live.” The vocals aren’t very strong, but the guitar is. I would’ve liked a little more balance though.

And then there’s “The Black Rainbow,” the last track on the album. The intro is full of effects and delay with haunting lyrics and building up into a great guitar riff. Classic Coheed. Once again, the vocals sound a LOT like Incubus but in a great way. The song was meant to hold the album’s title. It’s one of the better ones, and it wraps up all of the good elements of the album into one song. Well worth listening through eleven other tracks.

Overall the album is great to listen to all together. However, if I’m driving in the car I’ll leave it only for long road trips. It’s artistic and passionate. But none of the songs stick out like past songs, such as “Blood Red Summer” and “Welcome Home.” I have the feeling some of them might grow on me though.

Leave a comment