See Felicia Day in SyFy channel’s new movie: “Red: Werewolf Hunter”

By Michelle Beard

I love Felicia Day. I love “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog.” I love “The Guild.” I love “The Legend of Neil.” I loved her role as Vi in “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and I love her guest appearances on my favorite TV shows. Now there’s a new Felicia Day role for me to love: “Red: Werewolf Hunter.”

“Red: Werewolf Hunter” is SyFy channel’s adaptation of the classic tale “Little Red Riding Hood,” but with their own twist. Virginia “Red” Sullivan (Day) comes from a long line of werewolf hunters. The Sullivan’s had a truce with the local werewolves, but when Red returns home with her fiancé, Nathan (Kaven Smith), she and her two brothers are forced to take out the wolves.

I generally enjoy SyFy original movies, but they are rarely favorites. “Red” wasn’t any different. The primary draw to it is Felicia Day being a complete badass. The special effects are almost laughable and it feels a lot like a “Buffy” spin-off, but if you are a sci-fi fan, it’s still worth a watch.

Leave a comment