Go big or go home

Lindsey Oyler, Alestle A&E Editor

by Lindsey Oyler, Alestle A&E EditorAnd we thought Britney Spears was bad.

Sexuality and music sometimes go hand in hand. But when the music is drowned out by the booty-shaking and grotesque word descriptions, I doubt that it even matters what the rhythm was in the first place.

“It Girl” Rihanna and former Cheetah girl Kiely Williams are now battling it out for the raciest song of the year, or so it would seem. But concerning musical lyrics, how much is too much?

Rihanna performed “Rude Boy” at the 2010 Kid’s Choice Awards with little to no censoring, describing in its lyrics:

“I like the way you touch me there./ I like the way you pull my hair./ Babe, if I don’t feel it I ain’t faking./ No, no”


Despite that these are decently graphic, Rihanna still has her talent backing her up. People are hopefully just blowing off this song as one of her musical blips.

On the other side of the spectrum, child star Kiely Williams is attempting to make her career with the dirtiest, trashiest song I’ve ever heard. Coming into the musical world with very little street cred, Williams seemed like she was trying to enter with a bang, so to speak.

The lyrics don’t do this song enough justice, but when combined with her dancing, the hooker attire and her handcuff “bracelet,” this song just takes the cake.

I have to give Kiely props though. Despite that Rihanna did it in a classier manner, Rihanna still went big (just like she said she wanted in her lyrics). If you’re going to make a sex song, at least make it as trashy as possible. Go big or go home.

Leave a comment